this is a title




About Atlanta Funk Society

Started in the summer of 2010, the Atlanta Funk Society brought together a collection of some of the best musicians Atlanta had to offer. Founding members guitarist and vocalist Rob Lane (the Apostles) and bass player Kevin Scott (Col. Bruce Hampton, and others too numerous to mention) wanted to fill the need for a hard hitting funk band playing classic hits from the 60's, 70's and 80's. 

Their first call was to Jonathan Lloyd (Cadillac Jones, Lloyds Rocksteady Review), local trombone player and vocalist to put together the horn section which has included Dashill Smith(Just about every great band in Atlanta), Jason Collier(the Soulphonics), Anthony Staffiero(The Soulphonics), Prof. Eric Fontaine (just about every great band in Atlanta), and Taylor Kennedy (Soulphonics, Blair Crimmins). Next to join were guitarist Ian Newberry(Smokeys Farmland Band, Big Krit) and drummer Duane Trucks(Derek Trucks, Pharoh Gummit) lending their unrivaled musicianship to the group. The keyboards were manned by Florida transplant and first call pianist Nick Rosen(about every great band in town). Scotty Bryan (Cinetrope, 3052 dub Collective) stepped up the bands' vibe with the addition of percussion. 

The next critical piece was a female vocalist, and after a long search, Michelle Marshall came into the fold and showed what was up. The last piece was additional percussionist Yaya Brown to provide the perfect complement to Scotty Bryan and complete the driving rhythms of AFS.

PleaseRock Store
PleaseRock Weddings

PleaseRock mailing list

* indicates required